# Rapides Parish Library Board of Control December 12, 2023

#### Minutes

A special meeting of the Rapides Parish Library (RPL) Board of Control was called to order at 2:03 p.m. at the Westside Regional Library, 5416 Provine Place, Alexandria by President Le'Anza Jordan.

Board members present were Ms. Jordan, Ms. Dana Cox, Ms. Lana Havens, Ms. Irene Hobbs, Mr. James Morgan, Ms. Suelynne Mickey, and Mr. Ralph Roach. Ms. June Arrington and Mr. Morris Taft Thomas were absent.

Also present were Library Director Celise Reech-Harper, Assistant District Attorney Greg Jones, and six members of staff.

Ms. Jordan led the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence.

### Agenda

Ms. Mickey motioned to approve the agenda, seconded by Ms. Cox. On unanimous vote, the motion passed.

#### **Policy Updates**

Policies & Reconsideration of Materials Committee Chair Irene Hobbs yielded the floor to Assistant District Attorney Greg Jones, who informed the board that the committee had been reviewing and working on the new state statute R.S. 25:225 received in August, along with the model Collection Development Policy, Reconsideration Form, and Implementation Guidelines received in October prepared jointly by the Attorney General and State Library of Louisiana offices. Mr. Jones commented that the committee had prepared a proposed Collection Development Policy with very few changes from the AG's model policy, and a Materials Circulation Policy that met the requirements of the Implementation Guidelines, and that our committee requested that he forward the proposed policies to the State Library and the State Attorney General's office for review. Mr. Jones advised that both the State Library and the Attorney General's office have advised him that the proposed policies are in compliance with the requirements of LA R.S. 25:225.

Following an overview by ADA Jones and the Board of the new proposed Collection Development Policy, Reconsideration Form, and Materials Circulation Policy which all had been provided to each individual board member a week in advance of the meeting, Ms. Jordan called for motions on each amended document.

Ms. Cox motioned to adopt the revised Collection Development Policy, seconded by Ms. Hobbs. Ms. Jordan called for questions before the vote on the revised policy proposed by the committee. At that time, Mr. Morgan read a prepared statement to the board. He then made a motion to add his previously proposed amendment from last year to the revised policy proposal that the committee had before the

Board. Mr. Roach seconded Mr. Morgan's substitute motion; Ms. Jordan then called the question at which point Mr. Morgan demanded a roll call vote on his substitute motion. The Chair then asked for a roll call vote on Mr. Morgan's substitute motion. The vote was held.

Ayes: Morgan

Nays: Cox, Havens, Hobbs, Jordan, Mickey, Roach

Abstain: None

Absent: Arrington, Thomas

By majority vote, the substitute motion failed.

The Board returned to the original motion to adopt the committee's recommended policy, which had been seconded. On a verbal vote, the motion passed by majority vote with six ayes and one nay.

Ayes: Cox, Havens, Hobbs, Jordan, Mickey, Roach

Nays: Morgan Abstain: None

Absent: Arrington, Thomas

Ms. Havens motioned to adopt the revised Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials form, seconded by Ms. Hobbs. On unanimous vote, the motion passed.

Ms. Cox motioned to adopt the revised Materials Circulation Policy, seconded by Ms. Hobbs. On unanimous vote, the motion passed.

## **Applications for Minor Child's Library Card**

Revision to the standard application form for a minor child's library card and the Cards 4 Kids library card application form that is distributed to parish schools were reviewed by the Board. The revisions were designed to bring the forms into compliance with the library's revised policies.

Ms. Havens motioned to adopt the revised forms, seconded by Ms. Cox. On unanimous vote, the motion passed.

# **2024 Board Officers**

Nominating Committee Chair Lana Havens reported the committee's recommendation of the following slate of Board of Control officers for 2024:

- Le'Anza Jordan President
- Irene Hobbs Vice President
- June Arrington Treasurer

Mr. Roach motioned to appoint Ms. Jordan to the position of President, seconded by Ms. Havens. No further nominations were put forth. On a verbal vote, the motion passed by majority vote with six ayes and one nay.

Ayes: Cox, Havens, Hobbs, Jordan, Mickey, Roach

Nays: Morgan Abstain: None

Absent: Arrington, Thomas

Mr. Roach motioned to appoint Ms. Hobbs to the position of Vice President, seconded by Ms. Cox. No further nominations were put forth. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Cox motioned to appoint Ms. Arrington to the position of Treasurer, seconded by Ms. Mickey. No further nominations were put forth. The motion passed unanimously.

The next Library Board of Control meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 16, 2024 at the Westside Regional Library.

Mr. Morgan motioned to adjourn, seconded by Ms. Havens. On unanimous vote, the motion passed.

Mr. Jones thanked the Board and its Committees for their efforts as well as Senator Cloud and Attorney General Jeff Landry for their guidance regarding LA R.S. 25:225. The Board members thanked Mr. Jones for his assistance as well.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by

Celise Reech-Harper Secretary Le'Anza Jordan President