Rapides Parish Library Long-Range Planning Committee of the Board of Control March 18, 2025

Minutes

A meeting of the Long-Range Planning Committee of the Rapides Parish Library Board of Control was held at the Westside Regional Library, 5416 Provine Place, Alexandria, LA.

Committee members present were Mr. James Morgan (Chair), Ms. Irene Hobbs, and Board President Suelynne Mickey (ex officio). Also present were Library Director Celise Reech-Harper, Business Manager Stacy Dubrock, Payroll & Benefits Specialist Jennifer Quebodeaux, and Administrative Assistant Kendra Bertrand.

Mr. Morgan called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and led a prayer.

Ms. Hobbs motioned to approve the agenda. Mr. Morgan seconded, and the motion unanimously passed.

Mr. Morgan invited Ms. Reech-Harper to open discussion on the Library's available funds and potential projects. Ms. Reech-Harper explained that, in addition to the budgetary savings currently being reviewed, the Library maintains savings and CDs for specified emergency uses, such as major facility and systems repairs and automation system replacement.

Ms. Reech-Harper and Ms. Dubrock outlined the Library's current proposal for a 2024 budget addendum, which included a breakdown of funding for projects including roof replacements, payroll system upgrades, vehicle replacements, and branch refurbishments. These projects, if approved by the Board, would be funded from the \$1,150,364.45 remaining funds in the 2024 budget with approximately \$440,000 of those funds reserved for a future building project.

After discussion of the intended uses of the funds, Mr. Morgan motioned for the committee to present the funds available with the recommendation that all board members bring ideas for usage of the funds to him and then, the Long-Range Planning Committee would discuss possible uses for the funds in the coming months. The motion died due to lack of a second.

With no further business before the committee, Ms. Hobbs motioned to adjourn. Mr. Morgan seconded, and the meeting was adjourned at 3:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by

Celise Reech-Harper Secretary James Morgan
Committee Chair